World Cup Football

The FIFA World Cup is very important in the world of international football, also known as soccer. The World Cup is contested by the men's national football teams of FIFA member nations and is awarded every 4 years. There have been 17 tournaments held to date, but only 7 nations have won the World Cup Finals. The nation of Brazil holds the cup currently and has won the cup a total of 5 times making them the leading team. The next World Cup Finals will be held in Germany where Germany holds 3 titles.

In 1872 the first international football match was played between England and Scotland. In the beginning of the sport there were never medals awarded. It was called a demonstration sport and was played at the Olympics.

In 1909 the game was finally played for a trophy and was organized by Sir Thomas Lipton. That game is often referred to a the first World Cup. The title was won by West Auckland. They will be again in 1911.

In 1914 FIFA recognized the tournament as "world football for amateurs". This how things led to the first intercontinental football competition in 1924 at the summer Olympics. Uruguay won the tournament. In 1928 FIFA came up with their own international tournament.

Because football was not very popular in the united states it was not part of the program for the 1932 Olympics held in Los Angeles.

You may also like...